Tags

,

Day one of Baycon 2016 “It’s all about space” is complete. Day 2 is in full swing. I was totally going to write something last night, I promise, but then I fell asleep because yesterday was way too stressful.

So I got settled in at the hotel alright, once my badge was reprinted. but it took way too long to compose my blurb for the newsletter about “Persephone’s Gift” because of the paradox backlash from all the stuff leading up to it. The over application of pixie dust (aka: doing WAY more than should be physically possible in a given span of time) is of course paradoxical time magic, and there is inevitably a backlash (aka: I have trouble calming down and focusing afterwards).

But part of running games is the leg work ahead of time to make sure they are advertised properly and that people come out to them. After all, games don’t run without players. And MIT style games in particular quickly loose their charm and power if they are forced to run short. We take a lot of pride in designing games where not character is optional. It makes everything feel more tightly connected and everyone feel important, but it means that lots of plots are seriously hurting if we are short players.

Once business was taken care of, I wandered off to the Art Show. The art show is full of nice stuff as usual, but somehow I always find the art at Convolution more compelling. There are a bunch of little things that I’ll probably try to grab direct sale (mostly with airships, which if you are aware of CoD, you’ll probably find amusing), and a few others that I’ll bid on, but there is nothing that I absolutely must have for myself. I’m a little sad about that, but hey, it’s probably just as well that I’m not going to come home with another massive pile of artwork. I  still haven’t framed the stuff from Convolution.

The dealers room next door was… well kind of a disappointment, but I’m not so surprised by that. I’ve found fewer and fewer interesting things in the Dealer’s room each year. It was why I originally started spending money at the art show. The things there just appealed to me more. Still, I found a beautiful turquoise, gray and silver beaded bracelet which I just had to have since they are very Estel colors. I costume like crazy for LARPs, but even for tabletops I try to at least dress in the color and/or style of the character. Call it method acting, call it crazy, but it helps. Especially with characters I’m having trouble playing. Must get into character!

And then somehow the afternoon was gone, and it was time for game! And I was late! How embarrassing. And then, icing on the cake, the room was locked. So, off I went to ProgOps so they could reach the Hotel Liaison for me. HL is a wonderful person, and was so helpful. Still, it took nearly 30 minutes to get the room unlocked because the hotel apparently can’t tell the difference between “convene 2” and “collaborate 2”. Don’t ask me which genius decided to name the conference rooms with such similar names.

Anyway, we finally got into the room, and started setting up. Which of course I hadn’t thought at all about how I wanted to set the room up. Still, my players were all sweet and supportive and good sports and helped me drag chairs all over the place. Since of course the room had not been prepared to my request that ~ half of the chairs be removed, it was more work than it should have been. I wasn’t surprised about this at all, given that the room wasn’t even unlocked, but whatever, I’m used to making do.

The hardest part about running game it turned out was that I don’t actually know the shifting forest system very well. Oops! Makes it hard for me to explain rules on the fly. I’m pretty sure I just confused everybody. But then, as the GM, I end up moderating most conflict anyway.

As cute as Garden Station is, OMG is it GM intensive when the cast is short. Without the full cast of PCs to entertain each other, the terminals get used way more, and without an NPC to play a couple of bit parts, it’s all on me. I was so glad the room we played in was tiny because my players could catch my attention from anywhere in the room so I could run from one end to the other and back again. Over and over. And here I was wondering why my feet hurt at the end of the night. Duh!

When all was said and done though, I think everyone had fun. There were lots of big grins and laughs at the end, and some truly adorably epic reveals. I don’t even think one of my players minded missing Karaoke too much. I certainly hope not because she was absolutely splendid and was a massive boon to game given that she wandered by the room, stuck her head in and asked “what’s going on in here?” and then hung around and played. 🙂 Those are often the best additions. And are what make running LAPRs, especially at Con where they are WAY more work, worth every bit of the stress and chaos.

I’ll try  and write something tonight after “Persephone’s Gift” (which you should all come play in, BTW), but I may just fall asleep again. In the mean time, enjoy your weekend.