Tags

,

I have a little tongue-in-cheek gif for you all today. It wandered across my Facebook feed from a tumblr called Harpies Gonna Harp.

Entitled: Player Characters

tumblr_inline_o6c6cjcbvx1tnyj0g_500

As a GM, sometimes I really feel this one. Especially when my players completely misinterpret the clues they have in front of them. Of course, it’s not really fair since as the GM, I know more than the players (hopefully!) about what is going on. I know which decisions the party should regret later. Although, this kind of runs into the PC glow problem. If it happens too often that the PC choices are “bad” because the story doesn’t adapt around them, we can find ourselves with a very depressing, demotivating world. On the other hand, PCs who refuse to decide at all stall the game, at least until the GM railroads them somewhere by deciding for them, or someone else in the party makes the decision.

This also resonates with me when I’m another player around the table. Much as I’d like to break my mold, I tend to play Tabletop characters who are impatient and aloof. They have twitch trigger fingers and minimal sympathy for those without utilitarian views of the world and the mental compute power to size up a situation for the “best course of action. Now.” To be fair, as a player, I mostly make bad decisions, but I really dislike “no decision” mode.

Estel Johnson is my attempt to break out of that mold. I deliberately took the Seelie nature of “wayfarer,” which is not allowed to plan for the future. Which means I have good reason to try to suppress my natural urges to be the plot chaser. Instead, Estel is meant to be a feather floating down a river. Drifting where the current takes her, at it’s own pace. Not fighting, but not necessarily helping either. It is turning out to be quite a challenge for me. I’m still searching for Estel’s voice. At some point, I might even manage to write up the next session and you guys can all see what I mean.