As I sit, hidden from casual view in the middle of the foyer of the hotel, I can feel the energy of Con. It is like a river, having careened through the rapids of Saturday, spilling into the calm pool of Sunday. Everyone is tired, many running on autopilot, like little foam flotillas that drift aimlessly on the surface, but the people are draining through the various doors of the Hotel like water over the lip of the pool. Convolution 2015 is coming to an end, and we are all packing up to go back to our day jobs, our normal lives, the world beyond the beautiful, nine story glass walls of the SFO Hyatt Regency.

The company was good and the games were excellent. I wish the Con were a little bigger, but that’s not really the Con’s fault – it’s still very young. Interactions with events and con ops were productive and well handled. Interactions with hotel liaison were a little rough, bu the hotel staff themselves, especially the event manager, were super responsive and helpful – hopefully we didn’t cause too many headaches for the hotel liaison…

The panels I attended were… honestly I found them a little lackluster. Many moderators didn’t show up, the attendance to the panels I went to was tiny, barely outnumbering the panelists. The panelists also really failed to engage the audience. Yes they are all really important people, and yes they all know each other, but I thought there was surprisingly little attempt to engage with the audience. They were far too busy talking to each other with all their inside jokes. At Baycon, small panels = intimate. They are an amazing way to engage closely with the panelists. Here, there was an undertone of elitism that rubbed me the wrong way. I’m told by lots of people that the panels were awesome though, and they all went to different panels than I did. So maybe I just got unlucky and attended all the wrong ones.

In other news, I really like this hotel for all the little nooks and crannies. Every floor has them, and there’s this awkward little balcony half way up the stairs that makes for a great hiding in plain sight place. I should totally plan an unofficial (or official) take over of it next year. Set up shop and do prod for game, or something and wave cheerily at passer-bys.  A friend actually proposed something genius, which I wont spoil now, but you’ll hear more about it later as we prepare if we get the okay from Con. This year though, I’ve just put my back to the wall facing the stairs and pretended the world outside the little alcove didn’t exist.

I don’t know why, but I’ve been more introverted this Con than others. Maybe it’s because it is a new Con for me. Maybe it’s because I’m not on staff. Maybe it’s because only some of my usual social and emotional backup is here. Regardless, I’ve needed more hidey holes, so I’m glad they are available.

Also, since I seem to have committed to running LARPs for Cons, I should get ribbons. Besides the obvious personal ribbons, I’m thinking some kind of generic “I’m a LARPer” ribbon rather than trying to do game specific is the best option. I’ll figure something out.

For now, I’m signing off and heading home. May all your journeys home be short, and uneventful.