Tags

, , , ,

Take a deep breath. Let it out slowly. This is it. It shouldn’t be so hard. I’ve started a blog before. But it still feels like I’m standing in an empty room with a stack of manilla envelopes in front of me. It is the lull in the storm, between the chaos of “proding” a gameĀ (our word for print out and organize and cut and staple all the things!) and the chaos of packet hand-out. It is a moment of calm, tempered by nervousness. Except it’s worse, because I don’t know who my players will be. I could be talking to a room full of strangers. Or no one could come at all and all the work and effort will be for naught…

No plan survives first contact with the enemy – and no game survives first contact with the players. And yet, I lay plans anyway. I hope that this blog will be an entertaining mix of character anecdotes and deeper insights into game playing, running and writing. Expect a variety of pieces, hopefully from a variety of authors. Hopefully there will beĀ pieces about playing and writing larps, playing and writing tabletops, in character anecdotes, and random writing pieces. Rarely, we may have pieces about board games, conventions, game related internet phenomena, and more.

And so, without further ado, I invite you on this adventure with me.